Guardian Angel

In my dreams my guardian angel takes the form of a woman,
Not always the same. He knows that I, a fleshy creature,
Need a lover’s touch. We don’t make love.
But there is closeness between us, and understanding.

I never believed in the presence of angels, but my dreams have changed,
And when, recently, I found an underground grotto filled with treasure,
And we were moving the sacks together, I asked him
For one more moment of the dream, which gave me peace.

-Czeslaw Milosz

One thought on “Guardian Angel

Leave a Reply

